Governing Body

The Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC) owns and operates the Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (MSP) and six smaller general aviation airports within the metro area. The MAC chairman and 14 commissioners meet monthly to represent the interests of the community in decisions related to these airports. Citizens are welcome to attend the meetings.

The MAC's chairman and 12 of the 14 commissioners are appointed by the Governor of Minnesota. Eight of the 12 commissioners represent districts within the metropolitan area, while the remaining four represent the interests of outstate Minnesota.

In addition, one commissioner is appointed by the mayor of the City of Minneapolis and another is appointed by the mayor of the City of St. Paul to represent those cities. 

The commissioners' four-year terms are staggered.

Dan Boivin

Dan Boivin, Chairman

Governor Mark Dayton appointed Daniel Boivin chair of the Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC) in February 2011 and reappointed him in 2015. Prior to this, Boivin served as the mayor of Minneapolis' appointee to the board beginning in May 2002. As a MAC commissioner, Boivin chaired the Human Resources and Affirmative Action Committee.

In addition to serving as chair of the MAC, Boivin is an executive with Energy Management Collaborative, a national turnkey lighting solutions provider specializing in energy audits, lighting retrofits, and maintenance services. Boivin served from 2008 to 2015 as the executive vice-president, chief legal officer, and general counsel for HealthMine, a value-based health technology and insurance company where he was responsible for managing all legal and regulatory matters. Previously, Boivin served as attorney and partner with the Meshbesher & Spence law firm for 26 years, having been recognized as one of Minnesota's "Top Attorneys" by his peers and certified as a civil trial specialist. He has served as the chair of the Minnesota Bar Association Civil Litigation Section and has provided pro bono legal representation and acted as a volunteer judge for the Minnesota State High School Mock Trial Tournament.

He is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison and Hamline Law School, and currently lives in southwest Minneapolis. or 612-804-7644 

video icon More about Dan


Carl Crimmins - District A
Rick King - District B
Katie Clark Sieben - District C
Steve Cramer - District D
James Deal - District E
Michael Madigan - District F
Richard Ginsberg - District G
Ibrahim Mohamed - District H
Leili Fatehi- City of Minneapolis
Ikram Koliso - City of St. Paul
Patti Gartland - Outstate, St. Cloud
Don Monaco - Outstate, Duluth
Dixie Hoard - Outstate, Thief River Falls
Randy Schubring - Outstate, Rochester