Crystal Airport (MIC)

Joint Airport Zoning Board (JAZB)

Friday, February 11, 2022 Brooklyn Park Community Activity Center 5600 85th Ave N, Brooklyn Park MN

UNAPPROVED MINUTES

Lydia Werner, Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC), convened Crystal's Joint Airport Zoning Board meeting at 3:17 PM.

Members attending in person:

Chair, Rick Weyrauch, Voting Member

Brooklyn Center, Ginny McIntosh, Voting Member

City of Brooklyn Park, Paul Mogush, Voting Member

City of Brooklyn Park, Wynfred Russel, Voting Member

City of Crystal, Dan Olson, Voting Member

City of Crystal, Joseph Sears, Voting Member

City of New Hope, Jeff Alger, Voting Member

City of New Hope, Brandon Bell, Voting Member

MAC Commissioner, Rod Skoog, Voting Member

Robbinsdale, Rick Pearson, Voting Member

Robbinsdale, Thomas Helseth, Alternate Member

Members attending remotely, non-voting:

Brooklyn Center, Olivia Boerschinger, Alternate Member

City of Brooklyn Park, Todd Larson, Alternate Member

City of Minneapolis, Loren Olson, Voting Member

Robbinsdale, George Selman, Voting Member

Others in attendance:

Brad Juffer, Bridget Rief, Evan Wilson, Lydia Werner, Matthew Krogh, Rebecca Townsend - MAC Staff; Evan Barrett, Sarah Emmel - Mead & Hunt (JAZB consultant); Junior Lindsay - MnDOT

1. ROLL CALL

Rebecca Townsend, JAZB Secretary, took roll call.

2. WELCOME AND AGENDA OVERVIEW

Lydia Werner, Airport Planner for MAC, welcomed the board members and oriented them to the agenda.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM NOVEMBER 16 MEETING

Chair Rick Weyrauch asked if everyone had had a chance to review the minutes from last meeting, then entertained a motion.

PAUL MOGUSH FROM BROOKLY PARK MOVED TO APPROVE MEETING MINUTES FROM THE NOVEMBER 16, 2021, GINNY MCINTOSH SECONDED.

THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

4. OPEN MEETING LAW RULES FOR HYBRID MEETINGS

Werner reminded the board that board members attending remotely at non-public and locales not noticed prior to the meeting may participate but not vote.

Chair Weyrauch asked, given the hybrid in-person and online nature of the meeting, that each speaker speak loudly and clearly, giving their name and municipality.

5. QUESTIONS FROM NOVEMBER 16 JAZB MEETING

Evan Barrett, Mead & Hunt Planning Consultant for MAC, presented the questions and answers that had been discovered since the last meeting, beginning with slide 9.

6. MnDOT-PROPOSED LAND USE RULE CHANGES

Barrett continued by discussing MnDOT's proposed land use rule changes, beginning with slide 16.

7. COMMISSIONER'S STANDARD VS. CUSTOM APPROACH

Barrett continued with some additional comments on the difference between the Commissioner's Standard and Custom approach, beginning with slide 19.

8. PUBLIC COMMENTS

Chair Weyrauch asked for any public comments at this time. There were none.

9. BOARD DISCUSSION

Chair Weyrauch advised it was up to the board whether to call a vote or hold off for more time to consider municipalitys' options. He asked for any comments or discussion from JAZB members.

Dan Olson, City of Crystal, Paul Mogush of Brooklyn Park, and Loren Olson of Minneapolis, each in turn, stated their preference for the board to choose the Custom Zoning approach.

Chair Weyrauch asked if there were any further questions or comments, or if anyone was ready to call the motion.

DAN OLSON, CITY OF CRYSTAL MOVED THAT THE JAZB TAKE THE CUSTOM APPROACH TO ZONING CRYSTAL AIRPORT. WYNFRED RUSSEL, CITY OF BROOKLYN PARK, SECONDED.

THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

Municipality	Member	Ayes/Nays
Brooklyn Center	Ginny McIntosh	Aye
Brooklyn Center	Mike Elliott	
Brooklyn Center	Marquita Butler	
Brooklyn Center	Olivia Boerschinger	
	Boerschinger	

City of Brooklyn Park	Paul Mogush	Aye
City of Brooklyn	Wynfred Russel	Aye
Park City of Brooklyn	Susan Pha	
Park		
City of Brooklyn Park	Todd Larson	
City of Crystal	Dan Olson	Aye
City of Crystal	Joseph Sears	Aye
City of Crystal	Harley Heigel	
City of Crystal	John Sutter	
City of Minneapolis	Abdi Salah	
City of Minneapolis	Loren Olson	
City of Minneapolis	Brad Ellis	
City of New Hope	Jeff Alger	Aye
City of New Hope	Jeff Sargent	
City of New Hope	Brandon Bell	Aye
City of New Hope	Kirk McDonald	
JAZB Chair	Rick Weyrauch	Aye
MAC Commissioner	Rod Skoog	Aye
MAC Commissioner	Tim Baylor	
Robbinsdale	George Selman	
Robbinsdale	Rick Pearson	Aye
Robbinsdale	Stephan Menya	
Robbinsdale	Thomas Helseth	Aye
	Ayes	11
	Members/Quorum	15/8
	Nays	None
	Abstains	None

10. MEETING PLAN

Werner reviewed the meeting plan, beginning with slide 28. She let the board members know it will be a few months before the next meeting. In the meantime, Mead & Hunt will be conducting the detailed risk analysis required by the custom zoning procedure. Once the scope and timeline are known, the next meeting will be scheduled.

Werner conveyed to the board there will be a new Airport Planner with MAC taking over for her in mid April.

11. ADJOURN

Chair Weyrauch stated he would accept a motion to adjourn.

MAC COMMISSIONER ROD SKOOG MOVED TO ADJOUN.

THE MOTION PASSED BY UNANIMOUS VOTE.

The meeting adjourned at 4:35pm.

