The MAC Board

The MAC Board

The organization is governed by a 15-member policy board. The MAC board establishes policies and ordinances and provides financial oversight, including approving budgets and large expenditures.  

Minnesota’s Governor appoints the board chair and 12 commissioners, eight representing metropolitan districts and four representing Greater Minnesota.  

The mayors of Minneapolis and Saint Paul are commissioners but may appoint a representative to serve in their place. The chair and mayoral appointees serve at the will of the elected officials who appoint them.  

All other commissioners serve staggered four-year terms, providing continuity when administrations change.  

Patti Gartland, who represents outstate Minnesota, was the one commissioner reappointed in 2022.