A Message from Our Chair and CEO


We are pleased to present the Metropolitan Airports Commission’s (MAC) 2023 Annual Report. 

In 2023, the MAC marked its 80th anniversary, and celebrated another year of strong growth across the entire system of airports. Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (MSP) surpassed 34.7 million total passengers in 2023, an increase of 11% from 2022, and our general aviation airports saw an 8.3% increase in operations. Much of the growth at MSP was driven by new and returning international and domestic routes. Airlines added 11 nonstop routes in 2023, helping to drive a 9% increase in domestic travelers and a 45% increase in international travelers.

This year marked the launch of our 2023-2027 enterprise strategic plan, and a new purpose statement: To provide exceptional airport experiences so Minnesota thrives. This purpose statement is the foundation for all we do, whether embarking upon the largest interior renovation in MSP’s history, investing in infrastructure and technology to streamline the passenger journey, or securing new international service to Canada and Europe from Delta Air Lines, Aer Lingus, WestJet and Lufthansa. 

MSP once again earned multiple awards for its 2023 performance. The airport was recognized by Cirium as the number one global and large airport for On-Time Performance, and for the seventh time in the last eight years it was recognized as the Best Airport in North America by Airports Council International for airport customer service. We thank the more than 700 MAC employees and 20,000 MSP employees who are instrumental in achieving these accolades.

As we look back on 80 years of aviation in the Twin Cities, we are inspired by how far we’ve come and by the course we continue to chart. Please enjoy this 2023 Annual Report, which highlights some of our accomplishments over the last year and our ongoing commitment to providing exceptional airport experiences so Minnesota thrives. 



Rick King, Chair of the Board

Brian Ryks, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer